# PROCEEDINGS OF THE PARISH SCHOOL BOARD OF THE PARISH OF WEST CARROLL, STATE OF LOUISIANA, TAKEN AT A REGULAR MEETING May 2, 2016.

The Parish School Board of the Parish of West Carroll, State of Louisiana, met in a regular session at its regular meeting place, the West Carroll Parish Media Auditorium, in Oak Grove, Louisiana, Monday, May 2, 2016 at 6:30 P.M. pursuant to the following written notice to each and every member thereof:

Agenda for Board Meeting May 2, 2016

The West Carroll Parish School Board will meet at the West Carroll Parish Media Auditorium, Oak Grove, Louisiana, Monday, May 2, 2016, at 6:30 p.m. for the following purposes:

- 1. To receive information concerning contracts, resignations and leaves;
- 2. To receive Finance and Transportation committee reports.

Todd Smith led in prayer.

**MEMBERS PRESENT:** Don Gwin, J. Kelly Coleman, James C. Burrell, Cullen Kovac, Todd Smith, Julie Linson, and Sam Ashley

## MEMBERS ABSENT: Angela Anderson

**OTHERS PRESENT:** Richard Strong, Angela Johnson, Joanna Beard, Deanna Smith, Charlotte Hamilton, Belinda Chop, and Sarah Burrell.

Sam Ashley made a motion, seconded by Todd Smith, to approve the minutes of the Regular Board meeting of April 11, 2016.

**FOR THE MOTION:** James C. Burrell, Julie Linson, Sam Ashley, Todd Smith, Cullen Kovac, J. Kelly Coleman, and Don Gwin.

## AGAINST THE MOTION: None

ABSENT AND NOT VOTING: None

## THE MOTION PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.

The Parish Board of the Parish of West Carroll, State of Louisiana, was duly convened as the governing authority of the parish for school purposes by the Honorable J. Kelly Coleman, President, who then stated that the Parish School Board was ready for the transaction of business.

President J. Kelly Coleman asked if there were any changes to the agenda. There were two new items added to the original agenda.

- 1. To adopt a resolution calling the Special Election for a millage continuation.
- 2. To discuss proposed sales tax supplement schedule effective July 1, 2016.

James C. Burrell made a motion, seconded by Cullen Kovac to add two new items to the agenda.

**FOR THE MOTION:** James C. Burrell, Julie Linson, Sam Ashley, Todd Smith, Cullen Kovac, J. Kelly Coleman, and Don Gwin.

## AGAINST THE MOTION: None

ABSENT AND NOT VOTING: None

## THE MOTION PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.

There was no information concerning contracts, resignations and leaves.

Information was received concerning Finance and Transportation committee reports.

Julie Linson made a motion, seconded by Todd Smith, to adopt a resolution calling the Special Election for a millage continuation.

**FOR THE MOTION:** James C. Burrell, Julie Linson, Sam Ashley, Todd Smith, Cullen Kovac, J. Kelly Coleman, and Don Gwin.

## AGAINST THE MOTION: None

## ABSENT AND NOT VOTING: None

## THE MOTION PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.

Sam Ashley made a motion, seconded by Julie Linson, to discuss proposed sales tax supplement schedule effective July 1, 2016.

The finance committee met on March 24, 2016. As a result of that meeting, the committee would like to recommend the following distribution of sales tax for 2016-2017:

All certified employees will receive their prorated share of sales tax based on the number of months worked.

Support employees' sales tax is calculated at 63.7% of the certified employee's basis. All support employees will receive their prorated share of sales tax based on the number of months worked.

**Certified employees**: All Teachers, Principals, Assistant Principals, Supervisors, Business Manager, Sales Tax Collector, Superintendent, Nurses, Coordinators, Payroll Manager and other certified positions as approved by the board.

**Support employees**: All Bus Drivers, Custodians, Cafeteria workers, Secretaries, Aides and other support employees as approved by the board.

**FOR THE MOTION:** James C. Burrell, Julie Linson, Sam Ashley, Todd Smith, Cullen Kovac, J. Kelly Coleman, and Don Gwin.

## AGAINST THE MOTION: None

#### ABSENT AND NOT VOTING: None

## THE MOTION PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.

Cullen Kovac made a motion, seconded by Todd Smith, to adjourn.

**FOR THE MOTION:** James C. Burrell, Julie Linson, Sam Ashley, Todd Smith, Cullen Kovac, J. Kelly Coleman, and Don Gwin.

## AGAINST THE MOTION: None

ABSENT AND NOT VOTING: None

## THE MOTION PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.

Adjournment was at 7:10 P.M.

J. Kelly Coleman, President West Carroll Parish School Board Richard Strong, Secretary West Carroll Parish School Board